For Troubled Hearts

2015/09/img_5973.jpg

We worship a God of peace. A God who is never troubled, never worried, never unsure of what will happen. I may tremble, worry about my inabilities or weaknesses, or wrestle with the effects of my sin. But not Him. He is all-powerful, all-knowing, and perfectly pure. When I freak out because I’m not sure how to pay for something or whether someone has a serious health problem, He is standing guard over me and all of His other children, providing only what is for their ultimate good and molding them to be more like His Son. When I have to humble myself, confess my sin, and turn from it, He proves Himself to be the God of perfect grace and mercy, and then continues to give me strength to overcome the world.

In my weakness, His strength is magnified. In my uncertainty, His faithfulness stands firmer than ever.

When my life feels tumultuous or tenuous or tragic, I can know in the marrow of my bones that He is as good as He is sovereign, and put my mind on that instead of my troubles.

We worship a God of peace. He will someday destroy all the conflict, pain, and anxiety that result from the horror of sin. And He will watch over His children until that day comes.

“May the Lord of peace Himself continually grant you peace in every circumstance.”

From 2 Thessalonians 3

Leave a Reply

