30 Seconds of Political Perspective

 
  

Put not your trust in princes, in a son of man, in whom there is no salvation.  When his breath departs, he returns to the earth; on that very day his plans perish.
Psalm 146:3-4

I’ll vote.  I like voting, minus the lines and the cold.  It’s a good way to contribute as a citizen and a reasonably pleasant and painless one, I think.  

But you know what I don’t want to do this November?  I don’t want to spend a majority of my emotional capital, intellectual energy, my time, or my hope on what any candidate may or may not do.  I don’t want any candidate, one I agree with or one I’m against, to monopolize my headspace and my reading time and my conversations at work.  I always want to set aside the bulk of my heart and my passion for the eternal King.  Presidents and pundits and plans will all vanish before long, but the God of Jesus Christ has a power that cannot be matched and a good purpose that cannot be thwarted.  

No candidate, in fact no human being at all, has the kindness and control, the mercy and the sovereignty, that Jesus Christ has.  None has His wisdom, and none has His authority.  No one on the Republican and no one on the Democratic debate stages can save your aunt and my neighbor from their sins, can wipe out poverty at the trumpet sound of his return, can kill death and imprison Satan and remake the earth.  None.  

A candidate will get my vote.  But I pray none will get my heart’s deepest hope.  Let that be reserved for the One who will rule for the most good and for all time.

Leave a Reply

