3 (Political Season) Wishes

  

  1. I wish someone would tell each candidate who hurls a rebuttal insult at another that rudeness isn’t strength.  Refusing to let things go is childish, sinful.  Overlooking an insult isn’t a sign of weakness; real forgiveness requires more strength than bitterness or pettiness.  The strongest Man who ever lived was also the most willing to forgive the unthinkable wrongs done to Him. 
  2. I wish someone would make clear that it is not generous to want to give away other people’s money.  If I demand the wealthy pay higher taxes while giving none of my own money, time, or energy away to my relatives or neighbors or anyone in proximity to me, I’m not really being generous.  Generosity sacrifices from itself for the good of others.
  3. I wish I would do better at remembering that kings and presidents and congresses matter, but not as much as Jesus.  His Kingdom will outlast and outshine every earthly one.  100,000,000 years after the last light’s been turned out in America, Jesus will still be delighting and awing His people.  

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.

From 1 Timothy 2

Leave a Reply

