Political Woes

  
I believe it’s good for a politically-inclined person (like myself) who claims Christ (like myself) to periodically ask himself:  

Do I treasure my politics more than Jesus?  

Am I more fascinated by the kingdoms of this world than the Kingdom of God?

I’ve had to ask and answer my own conscience, in this election cycle, whether I’d be up for not voting the way I normally do because there was something dearer to me than a political victory.  I’m not trying to bind anyone else’s conscience to my own particular answer, but I do think a Christian should ask the question:  Which do I savor and cherish more?  Christ or a political paradigm?  

Put another way:  Is my political outlook an outworking of my faith and devotion to Jesus, or are my politics closer to the bone than my faith?

I hope my faith is my all.  Woe to me if I preach the gospel of a political ideology more often than I do the Gospel of the perfect life, sacrificial death, resurrection, and return of Jesus Christ. 

Woe to me if I am more excited about, more invested in, more anticipatory towards the triumph of an earthly political candidate than the return of my King. 

Woe to me if I have co-workers who know exactly who I’m voting for (or voting against) but have no idea how to be saved.  God placed me in their lives to be a light for His Kingdom.

Woe to me if I do not ever pray for the leaders I disagree with. 

Woe to me if I insult those political leaders I think are wrong from a heart of malice and spite, as though to be nasty about someone famous is somehow more permissible.

Guys, it appears to me we live in a particularly politically charged age.  But woe to us who’ve been brought to life by God if we succumb to the obsessions of our day and so lose our saltiness.  I’ll be voting and I’ll be paying my taxes and I’ll be obeying the law, but I want to want the bigger things even more.  I want to pray for my leaders and my neighbors.  I want to proclaim the Gospel to the people in my life.  I want to live honorably so that those who see me doing so may ask why, and might even glorify my God. 

Nothing inherently sinful about politics.  But the world loves to take good things and make them gods.  The world loves to take average men and make them kings.  

Just ask Saul.  

I want a heart like David’s. 

It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in princes.

Psalm 118:8-9


Leave a Reply

